Challenge Participant


Thursday, 13 July 2017

The Good Daughter by Karin Slaughter BLOG TOUR

The Good Daughter (Hardback)

The stunning new standalone, with a chilling edge of psychological suspense, from the No. 1 bestselling author of the Will Trent and Grant County series.
Two girls are forced into the woods at gunpoint. One runs for her life. One is left behind…
Twenty-eight years ago, Charlotte and Samantha Quinn's happy smalltown family life was torn apart by a terrifying attack on their family home. It left their mother dead. It left their father – Pikeville's notorious defence attorney – devastated. And it left the family fractured beyond repair, consumed by secrets from that terrible night.
Twenty-eight years later, and Charlie has followed in her father's footsteps to become a lawyer herself – the archetypal good daughter. But when violence comes to Pikeville again – and a shocking tragedy leaves the whole town traumatised – Charlie is plunged into a nightmare. Not only is she the first witness on the scene, but it's a case which can't help triggering the terrible memories she's spent so long trying to suppress. Because the shocking truth about the crime which destroyed her family nearly thirty years ago won't stay buried for ever…

I really enjoy Karin Slaughter’s popular Grant County series which features Will Trent and so when I was offered the opportunity to have a sneak peak of her new, standalone, novel ‘ The Good Daughter’ my fingers were crossed that it would be as good, if not, better and I have not been disappointed.
The book starts with a frightening memory of two young sisters being walked, at gunpoint, into the woods behind their home after seeing their mother shot dead by intruders who were looking for their father.  Fast forward twenty eight years and we, the readers, follow Charlie’s story as she is the witness in another case which leads to painful memories of the tradegy that shaped her life all those years ago.
A well paced book which keeps the reader’s attention right to the very end. Karin Slaughter has written a fantastic stand alone book which will appeal to readers who enjoy a high intensity psychological suspense story. The reader is lead through a number of twists and turns which is set in the present day but also links back to Charlie’s childhood and a time that she has tried hard to leave behind.  Throughout the book I enjoyed the high intensity and building fast pace of the novel and I found myself  being shocked many times during the story as Slaughter slips in an unexpected twist or reveal.
I would recommend this book to anyone who wants a great read this summer time. It is one of those books that once a reader starts they are enthralled to the very end so make sure you have time to devour this book as it is not easy to put it down once started.

Thank you to the publishers, Harper Collins, for inviting me to take part in this blog tour.

Saturday, 8 July 2017

Blog Tour - Secret Diary of Hendrik Groen, 83 ¼ Years Old by Hendrik Groen

The Secret Diary of Hendrik Groen, 831/4 Years Old (Paperback)The hilarious international bestselling novel that has had pensioners ditching their sticks and zimmers to follow the age-defying, youth inducing antics inside The Secret Diary of Hendrik Groen, 83 1/4 Years Old . . . 'Terrific. This geriatric Adrian Mole made me laugh' Woman and Home 'Funny and touching' BBC Radio 4 Meet Hendrik Groen. An octogenarian in a care home who has no intention of doing what he's told, or dying quietly. To that end, he creates the Old-But-Not-Dead Club and with his fellow members sets about living his final years with careless abandon. Such anarchism infuriates the care home director but pleases Eefje, the woman who makes Hendrik's frail heart palpitate. If it's never too late to have fun, then can it ever be too late to meet the love of your life? 'So much more than just a comedy' John Boyne 'A story with a great deal of heart' Graeme Simsion, The Rosie Project 'Amusing and wickedly accurate. A handbook of resistance for our time.' Sunday Express 'Very funny' Jeremy Paxman Financial Times
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd 
ISBN: 9781405924009 
As a teenager I really enjoyed The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole 13 3/4 and have read the whole series, so when I was asked to review 'The Secret Diary of Hendrik Groen, 83 1/4 years old' I was intrigued to see how the format worked for an older generation. It worked really well with Hendrik documenting his everyday life, filling his diary full of observations of the life of the members of the 'Old But Not Dead Club'. As it can be assumed there are many happy but also some low and sad moments throughout the book, however they are dealt  with in a sympathetic manner and not dwelt upon for long periods.
I found myself laughing out loud throughout the book as Hendrik described his day to day life in the care home. There is a great supporting cast of residents who also live in the care home. Day to day life is really that, with the ups and downs documented along with the weird and wonderful instances that I can imagine happening as the care homes aging population deal with their various medical conditions while living their lives to the max. Recurring themes are evident throughout the book and the feeding of the fish is one which I enjoyed. Do fish really enjoy Battenburg? 
I really enjoyed this book and strongly recommend it to others who want a great read this summer time. It is predominantly a laugh out loud book, however also be aware that there are some poignant and tear inducing moments sprinkled throughout.
Thank you to the publishers, Penguin Randomhouse, for sending me the book to review and to take part in this blog tour.

Monday, 3 July 2017

Blog Tour - Beneath a Burning Sky by Jenny Ashcroft

Beneath a Burning Sky: A gripping mystery and a beautiful love story that ticks all the boxes (Paperback)

'A summer must-read' Red'Exotic and mysterious - I was gripped by this complex tale' Dinah Jefferies, author of number one bestselling The Tea Planter's Wife

'This story of twists and turns transcends era and genre. Absolutely brilliant' Kerry Fisher, author of The Silent Wife

'A must for fans of first-class writing, brilliant characters, fascinating locations and gripping plots' Tracy Buchanan, author of My Sister's Secret

'Beautifully described . . . A moving love story' Tracy Rees, author of Amy Snow

'Exquisitely written . . . unputdownable and unforgettable' Iona Grey, author of Letters to the Lost

A beautiful and gripping story of love and betrayal and mystery that ticks all the boxes. Perfect for fans of Patricia Wilson, Dinah Jefferies and Rosanna Ley.  When twenty-two-year-old Olivia is coerced into marriage by the cruel Alistair Sheldon she leaves England for Egypt, his home and the land of her own childhood. Reluctant as she is to go with Alistair, it's in her new home that she finds happiness in surprising places: she is reunited with her long-estranged sister, Clara, and falls - impossibly and illicitly - in love with her husband's boarder, Captain Edward Bertram. Then Clara is abducted from one of the busiest streets in the city. Olivia is told it's thieves after ransom money, but she's convinced there's more to it. As she sets out to discover what's happened to the sister she's only just begun to know, she falls deeper into the shadowy underworld of Alexandria, putting her own life, and her chance at a future with Edward, the only man she's ever loved, at risk. Because, determined as Olivia is to find Clara, there are others who will stop at nothing to conceal what's become of her . . .Beneath a Burning Sky is a novel of secrets, betrayal and, above all else, love. Set against the heat and intrigue of colonial Alexandria, this beautiful and heart-wrenching story will take your breath away.
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group 
ISBN: 9780751565034 
I really enjoy spending summer days getting lost in a good book. If it is set in a faraway country it is even better because I won't be travelling to any exotic or far flung countries this year and, instead of spending my money on holiday travel, I enjoy spending it on books where I, the reader, am able to explore countries from the comfortable setting of my, new, garden chair. 
In 'Beneath a Burning Sky' the reader is transported to Egypt and I really enjoyed exploring the markets and cities throughout the story. I really enjoyed the writing style and I could picture the scene, along with the smells and sights, but also the blistering heat as the sun reached its midday heat. The story is surrounded in a veil of mystery and this all adds to the intrigue of the setting. i really enjoyed the whole story and I found myself reading just a little more each day, not wanting to leave behind the characters or the setting. 
I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a good summer read, and wanting to be transported away to someone hot with a story which will keep you enthralled until the very end.
Thank you to the publishers, Little Brown. for sending me the book to reivew.